Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church - Diocese of Kottayam

Kerala, India

KMG Centre, P.B.No.686

Kottayam, Kerala India

Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church - Diocese of Kottayam

0481-2564329, 2304376

As per the decisions of the Mulamthuruthy Synod, Kottayam Diocese was formed initially with 20 churches altogether from Kottayam and nearby places. The first diocesan metropolitan was His Grace Kadavil Paulose Mar Athanasios. After his demise, H.G Paulose Mar Ivanios (First Catholicos), H.G. Geevarghese Mar Philoxenos (Second Catholicos), H.G. Vattasseril Geevarghese mar Dionysios, H.G.Kuriakose Mar Gregorios (Pampadi Thirumeni 1929-1965) and H.G Paret Mathews Mar Ivanios (1965-1985) held the office in respective period of time. During the time of H.G Kuriakose Mar Gregorios, the Pampady Dayara became the office of the Diocese.

On 1982 April 21, the then Kottayam Diocese was divided into Kottayam, Kottayam Central, and Idukki. H.G Geevarghese Mar Ivanios took charge as the first Diocesan head of the newly re-organised Kottayam Diocese. After 28 years of fruitful administration of Kottayam Diocese, His Grace Geevarghese Mar Ivanios Metropolitan entered into Heavenly Abode on 12th April 2013.

His Holiness the Catholicos took over the administration of the diocese as per the Constitution of the Church, Following the demise of H.G. Geevarghese Mar Ivanios. H.H. Appointed H.G. Yuhanon Mar Diascoros, the Metropolitan of the Diocese of Madras as the Assistant to the Metropolitan of the Kottayam Diocese.