Colorado Horeb Mar Thoma Church

Mar Thoma Syrian Church

Northglenn, Colorado, USA


9821 Huron St
Northglenn Colorado, USA

Our Congregation is part of the world wide Mar Thoma Church with its origin and Head Quarters in Kerala, India. Our church is under the Diocese of North America and U.K. of the global Mar Thoma Church. Our Historical Background:

The Mar Thoma Church is headed by the Metropolitan bishop who lays claim to the Malankara Throne of St. Thomas. The current Valiya Metropolitan is His Grace The Most Rev. Dr. Philipose Mar Chrysostom Mar Thoma. The Metropolitan, His Grace The Most Rev. Dr. Joseph Marthoma Metropolitan has his headquarters at Tiruvalla, Pathanamthitta, Kerala, India. He is the 20th Malankara Metropolitan after the reestablishment of the Episcopacy in the 15th century.

The majority of the membership of the church is in the southern Indian state of Kerala but it has spread with the 20th century Indian Diaspora to North America, Europe, the Middle East, Malaysia, Singapore, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand, this in addition to a sizeable population in the rest of India.

The Mar Thoma Church is an Eastern Reformed Church. It owes its origin to the evangelistic work of the Apostle St. Thomas who came to India in 52 A.D. During the past centuries, the Church has been keeping friendly relations with various ancient churches. It is very much indebted to the Reformation and Revival movements of the 19th century.

The Mar Thoma Church is Eastern in its worship, Episcopal in tradition, Democratic in administration and Ecumenical in vision. Its Biblical emphasis, evangelical outlook, missionary zeal, theological concerns and social commitments are some other salient features of the Church. It is an active participant in the work of the ecumenical organizations like the WCC, NCCI, CCA, KCC, NMS and the Bible Society. It is in full communion with the Episcopal Churches in the United States and Canada, worldwide Anglican Church, the Church of South India and the Church of North India.

The ecclesiastical structure of the Church consists of Valiya Metropolitan, the Metropolitan, the Suffragan Metropolitan, ten Episcopas and clergymen. Strong lay leadership is very much prevalent in all facets of the Church activities. The Church has thirteen Dioceses.