Yesudian Street
Nagercoil Tamil Nadu, India

CSI Home Church, Nagercoil is one of the well-known churches in India with a very large worshipping community. It has a history of more than 200 years. As the congregation swelled over the years due to the influx of the Christian population from the surrounding villages of the district, the idea of building another church evolved.

The Late Bishop Rt. Rev. I.R.H Gnandhason also expressed his wish to have churches on all the four sides of the town. Messers P.C.David, A.D.Rethnadhas, I. Maxwell Solomon, N. Yesudhas, K. James and Mr.D.Bright Gnanadhas gave a petition to establish a church in the western side of the hostel ground and the Church Board of the Diocese in its meeting on Jan 14, 1975 approved the request. In the planning meeting organised under the leadership of Rev.S. Duthi it was unanimously decided to name the church as CSI Christ Church , Nagercoil. A building Committee was formed with Mr. A.T. Joseph as Convener, Mr.F.G.Nehemiah as Treasurer and Mr. M.J. Ebenezar as Accountant. Mr.J.A.Charles Arulanandham and Mr. G. Thomas were appointed as Engineers. Mr.S.Richard offered his help to collect funds from abroad and Mr.F.C.Langton undertook the task of obtaining permission from the municipality.

It was decided to build the church with 60' long and 40' broad. The foundation work began on 3rd Feb, 1975 with prayer by Rev.S.Duthi and blessings by Rt.Rev.C.Selvamony . The work could not proceed as the sanction from the municipality was denied. Hence, it was decided to conduct the services in a thatched shed in the interim period. The work started on 12th Nov 1977. Money from people started to flow and the work was completed within 13 days. The church was dedicated on 26th November 1977, in a thatched shed. Initially Rev.S.Parinbadhas who was serving as assistant pastor in Home Church used to conduct the Sunday morning services. Evangelist Y.Jacob was in-charge of the evening worship.

An adhoc committee was constituted to look after the church under the leadership of Mr.F.C. Langton. Dr.S .Richard, Mr.I.Maxwell Solomon, Mr.D.A.Ratnadhas ,Mr.D.Bright Rajadhas. Mr.G.Ebenezar and Mr.G.Yesurajamani served on that committee.

The Church attained the status as Christ Church pastorate Church from 1st Aug, 1978 and Rev. Y.Paulraj was appointed as the first pastor.