The Histoty of the Parish of Adaikalapuram is connected to St. Joseph’s charity Institute of Adaikalapuram. In 1862 & 1863, seven young men and women who were brought up in the institute got married and were settled in the land donated by the Institute. These seven families were so to say the first Christians of the parish of Adaikalapuram. Later on a few people from Vadakkankulam, Pothakalanvilai, Kayamozhi, Eral, Udangudi, Veeramanikam, Sethukuvaithan, Seerkaitchi, Ranimaharajapuram etc. migrated and got settled at Adaikalapuram for the purpose of palmyrah tapping. We come to know of this history from the Baptismal registers of the Jesuit Priests Rev. Frs. Mozan, Kushion, Peter and Gregory. In the begining people at Adaikalapuram put up a thatched hut as the place of worship.
In 1938, March 19th Rev. Fr. Joseph Roche, who was the director of the charitable institute laid the foundation stone for the parish Church. In 1952 Adaikalapuram became a separate parish. And the parish was taken care of by the director of the institute and by the parish priest of Arumuganeri. In 1990 the present Church, which has the blend of Christian, Hindu and Mushlim architectural combination, was blessed and dedicated to Athisaya Arockia Matha by Bishop Ambrose Mathalaimuthu.